top of page
Featured Posts

Metallica - Hardwired to Self Destruct

Before we break the album down to pieces we should first talk about the history of the band, but I have already done that in a previous article so go and read that here.

I also talk about the few songs I had heard and answer the question am I looking forward to it?

The answer was yes.

So let's break it down track by track and on the first disc we have Hardwired.

Not a bad track to kick the album off and is paced well. It isn't the worst song I have heard from them over the years so I was OK with this being the track we heard first a few months ago.

Next we have Altas, Rise!

I don't mind this song it riffs are not that bad if I'm honest it's one of the catchy ones again this came out early so I was quite looking forward to hearing the rest each song get a little better each time I was fine with this one to.

Next up we have Now that we're dead.

The opening riff to this track is strong regardless of if I like the songs on this album James Hetfield's voice sounds strong as ever on this album. I have listened to this track a few times musically it's good lyrically it's sappy and middling. I am starting to see a pattern to this from early on.

Moth in to the flame is up next.

I like this track and this is another we heard before release the riff is catchy and it really pays homage to Metallica of old which older fans like me have no problem with. It's a great track and I remember this being the track that made me more optimistic for the new album.

Dream no more is on next.

I like the beginning to this track it has that sad but true sounding riff to it. This will be a good one for the live crowd. This video is different. I like the fact they released all the videos on you tube. It certainly helps me to make this review look cooler. Musically the riffing is good but I'm not sure after I stop listening to it that I will remember this one.

And now we have Halo on Fire

Again, the opening riffs are solid then it turns in load. I like change and bands do have to evolve with the times. But load was awful and I'm sure I haven't forgot to mention that so many times. This album reminds of that at times it's a bit like your first bad experience with alcohol. You always remember that drink that made you sick or make a twat out of yourself when you was younger. For me load is like a bottle of Thunderbird's. I look back and shudder and will never drink it again. This song is terrible.

We move on to disc 2 and Confusion

Again the opening the riffs are great nothing wrong with them. This song sounds like the others and feels like a bit of filler. The lyrics "Please make it go away" fit this song exactly . I think it could have been a B side. This album started well but it's declining as we get along.

We have Manunkind up now

Let's just say this video is cool. The song is not. It's irritating me now I find myself looking to skip this one. It sounds like the last one. The lyrics are sappy again. Like a midlife crisis in song form. This song is the worst song they have ever done. The echo effect on the vocal makes me angry I felt like throwing my phone at the train when I listened to this travelling the other day. I can't get to the end of this song I just can't.

Here comes revenge

This song is not even B side. This is a product of band which only has yes men around them. They have got too comfortable. This isn't for me. Disc two has kinda turned into one giant mess nothing stands out. This album has brought out so many negative responses. I got to the end of this song unlike the last one. If you can take that as positive, then do it.

Am I savage comes up next

This is another one you could hear it a thousand times and it wouldn't stick. And it sounds like the last one. The lyric " I don't recognise you any more" is very apt as this is a big contrast to the first disc. This song has issues not just the daddy issues mentioned in it. The hunger of the band seems to have left. They have been coasting for a long time and this album up to now has done nothing to change that.

Murder one comes along with a great video tribute to Lemmy

It's a great video and a fitting Tribute to Lemmy. Musically does it capture his essence not even close. The last few songs could have been made into one song and nobody would have noticed. This album is droning on now like a health and safety course at work. I feel like I should pay attention because it could save my life but I feel like the more it drones on the more my soul is dying a little inside. That being said the video is still pretty cool.

Last song is Spit out the bone

So as I get to the end of this album I'm kinda relieved this picks up the pace a little. I was starting to hate myself for wanting this album to be so good. I felt angry and realise I was naive.

They say music should evoke a emotional response and this does, It's mostly anger .Let's go back to this song it's the best one on disc two. But that isn't hard to do.

I'm going to sum this all up. Metallica didn't come back with the album that was back to their best. Disc two is middle of the road sappy and repetitive. The more it went on It made me angry because I am a fan of the band. I have seen them so many times live and will no doubt see them again. Move spit out the bone to disc one and forget disc two ever happened. and then it would be fine more or less. I could even try and forgive Halo on fire even though it made me throw up I still drink alcohol now and again.

I wanted so much from this album and as it progressed all I got was anger and indifference. I held the candle for this band for so many years longer then I should of to be fair. It didn't take a moth to extinguish it either Metallica took a hammer to it.


Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
bottom of page